Herd Competition 2017

The competition was open to all fully paid up members residing within the Border British Blue Club area. The herds were split into two categories (small and large herds). Large herd was a herd that registers more than 5 calves a year and small herd is a herd that registers less than 5 calves a year into the British Blue herd book.

The Judges Jeff & Margaret Walker (Brennand Herd) had the very difficult task of judging the event. The small herd was won by Kelly Blackwood & Duncan Davidson (Blackstane). The winner of the large herd went to Kevin Watret (Solway View). The Solway View herd went on to win the Overall Herd Competition.

The prize giving took place at The Auctioneer on Thursday 28th September 2017.

The Border Club would like to thank everyone who helped make the Herd Competition a great success.

Class prize winners were as follows: -

BEST COW to receive David Allen Plaque:

1st Moorsley Duchess (Paul Brannen); 2nd Solway View Illusion ET (Kevin Watret); 3rd Blackstane J’Adore (K Blackwood & D Davidson).

BEST HEIFER 12 – 30 months to receive Kelowna Plaque:

1st Solway View Kesha ET (Kevin Watret); 2nd Stonebyres Leona (Blair & Shona Comrie); 3rd Kinkry Hill Kitkat (Joe Pattinson).

Most Promosing Heifer under 12 months to receive Total Signs Plaque:

1st Moorsley Molly Malone (Paul Brannen); 2nd Blackstane Little Princess (K Blackwood & D Davidson); 3rd Stonebyres Merida (Blair & Shona Comrie).

BEST BULL to receive Neil Graham & Co Plaque:

1st Tweeddale Hamish ET (Richard Pedley); 2nd Croftends Iceman (JE Bellas & Son); 3rd Solway View Jackpot (Kevin Watret).

BEST BULL 12 – 30 months

1st Blue Steel Kilo (Jonathan Steel); 2nd Stonebyres Levi (Blair & Shona Comrie); 3rd Top Side Kupid (Ross & Elaine Pattinson).

Most Promosing Bull under 12 months to receive Harrison & Hetherington Ltd Plaque:

1st Solway View Levi (Kevin Watret); 2nd Netherton Magic (J Hyslop & Sons); 3rd Maidenlands London (Dean Saunders).

BEST SMALL HERD to receive Little’s Butchers Plaque:

1st Blackstane Herd (Kelly Blackwood & Duncan Davidson); 2nd Maidenlands Herd (Dean Saunders); Downbyrigg Herd (Neil Forrester).

BEST LARGE HERD to receive Highland Drover Plaque:

1st Solway View Herd (Kevin Watret); 2nd Stonebyres Herd (Blair & Shona Comrie); 3rd Moorsley Herd (Paul Brannen).

OVERALL BEST HERD to receive Brian Wheatley Plaque:

Solway View Herd (Kevin Watret).