Herd Competition 2018

The competition was open to all fully paid up members residing within the Border British Blue Club area. The herds were split into two categories (small and large herds). Large herd was a herd that registers more than 5 calves a year and small herd is a herd that registers less than 5 calves a year into the British Blue herd book.

The Judge Rab Paterson (Auchenlay Herd) had the very difficult task of judging the event. The small herd was won by Greg Jackson (Woodend). The winner of the large herd went to Kevin Watret (Solway View). The Solway View herd went on to win the Overall Herd Competition.

The prize giving took place at The Shepherds Inn on Thursday 4th October 2018.

The Border Club would like to thank everyone who helped make the Herd Competition a great success.


Class prize winners were as follows: -

BEST COW to receive David Allen Plaque:

1st Top Side Isla (Ross & Elaine Pattinson); 2nd Tweeddale Jenhance (Greg Jackson); 3rd Tweeddale Enhance ET (Jenny & Martin Hill).

BEST HEIFER 12 – 30 months to receive Kelowna Plaque:

1st Abington Lily (Ian McGarva); 2nd Willnut Lara (Jenny & Martin Hill); 3rd Dinmore Moschino (Henry Jewitt).

Most Promosing Heifer under 12 months to receive Total Signs Plaque:

1st Maidenlands Marbella (Dean Saunders); 2nd Stonebyres Monalisa (Blair & Shona Comrie); 3rd Kelowna Malificent (Steve & Claire Pattinson).

BEST BULL to receive Neil Graham & Co Plaque:

1st Croftends Iceman (JE Bellas & Son); 2nd Aultmore Jasper (John Hyslop; 3rd Naby Golddust ET (Ross & Elaine Pattinson).

BEST BULL 12 – 30 months to receive Oaktree British Blues Plaque:

1st Solway View Leanardo (Kevin Watret); 2nd Stonebyres Minstrel (Blair & Shona Comrie); 3rd Top Side Monty (Ross & Elaine Pattinson).

Most Promising Bull under 12 months to receive Harrison & Hetherington Ltd Plaque:

1st Solway View Moonboots (Kevin Watret); 2nd Top Side Ninja (Ross & Elaine Pattinson); 3rd Kelowna Noha (Steve & Claire Pattinson).

BEST SMALL HERD to receive Little’s Butchers Plaque:

1st Woodend Herd (Greg Jackson); 2nd Devine Herd (Martin & Jenny Hill); 3rd Homilton Herd (Roly Carr).

BEST LARGE HERD to receive Highland Drover Plaque:

1st Solway View Herd (Kevin Watret); 2nd Moorsley Herd (Paul Brannen); 3rd Stonebyres Herd (Blair & Shona Comrie).

OVERALL BEST HERD to receive Brian Wheatley Plaque:

Solway View Herd (Kevin Watret).