Herd Competition 2019

The competition was open to all fully paid up members residing within the Border British Blue Club area. The herds were split into two categories (small and large herds). Large herd was a herd that registers more than 5 calves a year and small herd is a herd that registers less than 5 calves a year into the British Blue herd book.

Overall Herd Competition winner Kevin Watret (Solway View)

Overall Herd Competition winner Kevin Watret (Solway View)

The Judge Andrew Price (Bedgebury Herd) had the very difficult task of judging the event. The small herd was won by Henry Jewitt (Sunnybank). The winner of the large herd went to Kevin Watret (Solway View). The Solway View herd went on to win the Overall Herd Competition.

The prize giving took place at The Agri Expo on Friday 1st November 2019.

The Border Club would like to thank everyone who helped make the Herd Competition a great success.

Class prize winners were as follows: -

Cows In Milk
1st    Topside Isla (Ross & Elaine Pattinson)
2nd   Blackstane J’Adore (Kelly Blackwood & Duncan Davidson)
3rd    Solway View Kesha (Kevin Watret)
4th    Tweeddale Jenhance (Greg Jackson)

Dry Cows
1st    Stowbeck Freda (Ben Haigh, Luce Water Herd)
2nd   Solway View Drambuie (Kevin Watret)
3rd    Drumlone Lindsey (Gavin & Gillian Scott, Thistle Herd)
4th    Kelowna Krystal (Steve & Claire Pattinson)

BEST COW to receive David Allen Plaque:
1st    Topside Isla (Ross & Elaine Pattinson)

BEST HEIFER 12 – 30 months to receive Kelowna Plaque:
1st    Abington Monica (Ian McGarva)
2nd   Littlebank Megan (Henry Maudsley)
3rd    Solway View Nee (Kevin Watret)

Most Promosing Heifer under 12 months to receive Total Signs Plaque:
1st    Sunnybank O My Gosh (Henry Jewitt)
2nd   Littlebank Orla     (Henry Maudsley)
3rd    Maidenlands Ora (Dean Saunders)

BEST BULL to receive Neil Graham & Co Plaque:
1st    Almeley Kasper (John Hyslop, Netherton Herd)
2nd   Almeley Marhez (Dean Saunders, Maidenlands Herd)
3rd    Oak Tree Lieutenant (Richard Pedley)

BEST BULL 12 – 30 months to receive Oaktree British Blues Plaque:
1st    Top Side Nik Nak (Ross & Elaine Pattinson)
2nd   Maidenlands Marvel (Dean Saunders)
3rd    Stonebyres Ninja (Blair & Shona Comrie)

Most Promising Bull under 12 months to receive Harrison & Hetherington Ltd Plaque:
1st    Solway View Niko (Kevin Watret)
2nd   Sunnybank Oclipse (Henry Jewitt)
3rd    Stonebyres Nomad (Blair & Shona Comrie)

BEST SMALL HERD to receive Little’s Butchers Plaque:
1st    Sunnybank Herd (Henry Jewitt)
2nd   Abington Herd (Ian McGarva)
3rd    Blackstane Herd (Kelly Blackwood & Duncan Davidson)

BEST LARGE HERD to receive Highland Drover Plaque:
1st    Solway View Herd (Kevin Watret)
2nd   Top Side Herd (Ross & Elaine Pattinson)
3rd    Stonebyres Herd (Blair & Shona Comrie)

OVERALL BEST HERD to receive Brian Wheatley Plaque:
Solway View Herd (Kevin Watret).

RESERVE OVERALL BEST HERD – Top Side Herd (Ross & Elaine Pattinson).

Overall Herd Competition winner Kevin Watret (Solway View)