Border British Blue Herd Competition 2020

The competition was open to all fully paid-up members residing within the Border British Blue Club area. The herds were split into two categories (small and large herds). Large herd was a herd that registers more than 5 calves a year and small herd is a herd that registers less than 5 calves a year into the British Blue herd book.

The Judge Graham Brindley (Bringlee Herd) had the very difficult task of judging the event. The small herd was won by Kelly Blackwood & Duncan Davidson (Blackstane). The winner of the large herd went to Kevin Watret (Solway View). The Solway View herd went on to win the Overall Herd Competition.

The Border Club would like to thank everyone who helped make the Herd Competition a great success.

The results were given out via a Zoom meeting. Blair thanked Graham for coming to judge our herd competition. Graham said that it was a great honour to be asked and to meet us all during these strange times. It was great to see the cattle in many different environments.

Class prize winners were as follows: - BEST COW to receive David Allen Plaque:

1st Blackstane J’Adore (Kelly Blackwood & Duncan Davidson) 2nd Moorsley January (Paul & Katie Brannen)

3rd Brothers Kyrie (Ben Haigh)

4th Inishfree Imogen White of Morn (Chall Parsons)

BEST HEIFER 12 – 30 months to receive Kelowna Plaque:

1st Solway View Netty (Kevin Watret) 2nd Abington Ophelia (Ian McGarva)

3rd Top Side Nayla (Ross & Elaine Pattinson)

Most Promosing Heifer under 12 months to receive Total Signs Plaque:

1st Abington Orchid (Ian McGarva)

2nd Littlebank Polly (HR & WJ Maudsley) 3rd Stonebyres Olivia (Blair & Shona Comrie)

BEST BULL to receive Neil Graham & Co Plaque:

1st Greystone Kilo (Mr G Whalley & Miss H Whalley, Jaygar Herd) 2nd Croftends Iceman (JE Bellas & Son)

3rd Stonebyres Minstrel (Blair & Shona Comrie)

BEST BULL 12 – 30 months to receive Oaktree British Blues Plaque:

1st Sunnybank Orlando (Henry Jewitt) 2nd Devine Optimist (Devine & Hill)

3rd Kelowna Noel (Steve & Claire Pattinson)

Most Promising Bull under 12 months to receive Harrison & Hetherington Ltd Plaque:

1st Croftends Peroni (JE Bellas & Son) 2nd Abington Paddy (Ian McGarva)

3rd Maidenlans Odds On (Dean Saunders)

BEST SMALL HERD to receive Little’s Butchers Plaque:

1st Blackstane Herd (Kelly Blackwood & Duncan Davidson) 2nd Downbyrigg (Neil & Helen Forrester)

3rd Abington Herd (Ian McGarva)

BEST LARGE HERD to receive Highland Drover Plaque:

1st Solway View Herd (Kevin Watret)

2nd Stonebyres Herd (Blair & Shona Comrie)

3rd Jaygar Herd (Mr G Whalley & Miss H Whalley) OVERALL BEST HERD to receive Brian Wheatley Plaque: Solway View Herd (Kevin Watret).